Deadbeat

DEADBEATPOSTERScott Monteith is a Canadian dub/techno producer who goes by the name of Deadbeat. I first came across his music some 10 years ago via a superb series of releases on the German scape label. Particularly notable was New World Observer from 2005. This was a steamy, sensuous, hard hitting and melodic blend of beats and twists I hadn’t expected from the genre. In fact, I’m still hard-pressed to assign his music to a genre. I’ve seen him live a few times and am always impressed with his way with a groove. Virtually everything he’s done since is worth checking out if you have any interest in hybrid dub/techno forms.

Scott’s now based in Berlin and while his visits home are few, I recently caught a listing for an April gig at the Fox. I looked through my files and found a shot I’d done at a gig that was staged in the parking lot of the late, lamented Waldorf Hotel a few years ago. I must say that the event was a bit of a shambles from the venue’s production side, but Scott ended up coming through with bells on and managed to pack the dance…um…area.

So with this April gig I thought I’d make up a poster using a shot from that parking lot gig and keeping it clean and simple…and readable. It will be circulated via social media but I used the standard 11 x 17 poster dimensions.

I’m glad the show will be indoors this time! And if you have the chance to see Scott live, take it!

About markmushet

I take photographs, make videos, produce podcasts, do some design and generally provide a variety of media services to educational, cultural and corporate clients.
This entry was posted in Music, Portraits, Posters and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

