“What are you doing this afternoon?”

Cover photo taken at dusk, looking west towards the Pattullo Bridge

Some assignments make me laugh. This one came suddenly and was over before I knew it. Rolf Maurer of New Star Books asked me if I would shoot a book cover for him. The author was Ranj Dhaliwal and he was about to release his follow-up to Daaku. I said sure and asked about the timeline.

“What are you doing this afternoon?”

“Shooting a book cover I guess!”

After some quick calls, Rolf hooked me up with Ranj and we agreed to rendezvous near the foreshore by a bridge known as a body dumping ground favoured by Indo Canadian gangs in recent years. I’d gotten lost on my last shoot in the area so, suspecting some logistical difficulties, we settled on meeting at a local Tim Horton’s instead (who, by the way, never seem to have cinnamon donuts on offer). From there we drove in Ranj’s black SUV towards the industrial foreshore only to find it much gentrified with walking paths and groomed micro-beaches that were currently hosting families fishing for pink salmon in the early autumn sunlit afternoon.

After some poking around we finally found a road leading to the last bit of undeveloped, vaguely accessable strip of industrial waterfront. A security guard stopped us and as I looked west at the rapidly dwindling light made a promise to take only five minutes to do whatever it was I was going to do.

So, here is the result; a hopefully slightly menacing image of an industrial “no go” zone that harbours a dark secret or two. It turned out to be a pleasant afternoon after all.

About markmushet

I take photographs, make videos, produce podcasts, do some design and generally provide a variety of media services to educational, cultural and corporate clients.
This entry was posted in Books, Covers. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

